Posted by: thewoobdog | June 4, 2014

Random Recipe Wednesday

I picked up my first CSA share today and part of the bounty included a half pound of mature spinach. I don’t care for spinach raw unless it’s baby spinach, so I decided to cook the leaves to go with dinner tonight.  I swear I could have eaten two pounds of the stuff. I didn’t feel like finding a recipe (I always end up getting overwhelmed with too many options and making things way to complicated if I try to pull cookbooks out right before dinner), so I just winged it using what I had on hand, including some of the other offerings from the CSA pickup.  I know if I don’t write it down I’ll never remember it, so here goes:

 

Sauteed Spinach

1 largish green onion (stem and bulb)  chopped small

1 whole green garlic* (stem and bulb), chopped small

1/2 lb mature spinach, stems removed (do not have to remove stems from leafy part), roughly chopped into large pieces

Dash salt

1-2 tsp EV olive oil

Splash of white wine

Dash of lemon pepper

Heat olive oil in large saute pan. Add green onion and green garlic, saute until limp.  Sprinkle with salt, stir, add spinach.  Saute until limp, add a splash of white wine and a dash of lemon pepper and saute 30 more seconds. Makes 2 small servings or 1 medium serving.

 

* Green garlic is very young garlic, generally harvested early in the growing season as a result of the farmers thinning the rows.  The green garlic I used was about the size of a largish green onion, but leafier – I chopped the leafy parts, stem, bulb and all.

Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

