Posted by: thewoobdog | April 10, 2014

Slacker Slacker Slackface

Man, I’m slack. I can’t believe I haven’t blogged in *cough* seven months *cough*.  It’s so hard to make myself write a post [whine], but I love having written a post, and I especially love going back and reading old posts.  It’s such a great way to remember – just reading what I wrote or something silly and random that I posted takes me back to where I was then, good or bad.  I’ve always been terrible at journaling (why the heck would I want to write a bunch of blah blah blah that no one is ever going to read?) – it always seems to end up being excessively self-indulgent (my feelings written by me about me to me) and too often I end up being maudlin and disgustingly self-reflective (some self-reflection is a good thing, but you can only ride that pony so far).  Blogging, for me anyway, is more outward-focused.  Granted, I’m writing about my life or things I enjoy or random stuff I find amusing and want to share, but it’s filtered through a different lens – and quite honestly, I find that what I blog about ultimately has more meaning to me when I go back and read it than some sappy schmaltz I wrote in a journal.*

Moving on. I’ve been following some amazing blogs lately – some new (to me), some old favorites (as seen on my sidebar) – and I really feel the urge to start keeping up with this thing again.  I’m crazy busy right now (tax season, ugh), but I’ve got a new year’s resolution post coming up soon.  It’s non-traditional, I know, but I never really know what my goals are or what direction I want to head in on January 1.  I’m always recovering from the holidays and just trying to get back to a normal routine – trying to all of a sudden add resolutions for new and improved me to the holiday bounce-back is an exercise in futility and never ends well.  This year I’ve been pondering changes and goals and positive paths for a few weeks or months and I think I’m finally at the point that I can actually articulate the things I want to implement in my life. My birthday is coming up this month so what better time to make my new year’s resolutions?  Stay tuned…

Posts with pictures are always fun, so on a completely unrelated note, here, I made this**:

Mitered Cowl

* Note that I am not dissing journaling in general – I know a lot of people find it healing and cathartic and absolutely essential for their mental, spiritual, and emotional well-being. I’m just saying I’m not one of those people.  Who knows, maybe I do it wrong.  Whatever. Just because it doesn’t work for me doesn’t mean it doesn’t have value, so please, don’t flame me.

** Modeled by my lovely sister.  Pattern here (not mine, I’m not that creative), yarn is Classic Elite Yarns Liberty Wool in colorway 7890.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Yarn Harlot

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

