Posted by: thewoobdog | June 25, 2013

Veg Overload

Okay, so the CSA share thing?  Awesome.  I love knowing that we are eating fresh, local, organic produce and supporting local farmers.  I love having a whopping big load of vegetables handed to me twice a week without me having to make any purchasing decisions.  I get what I get and that’s that – it’s based entirely on what was ready for harvest on the farms that week.  This is why I knew it would make me try new things – like, somehow I ended up with like a pound and a half of kohlrabi.  I’ve never cooked (or eaten) kohlrabi in my life – I always just thought of it as that weird space alien vegetable hanging out in the produce section.  Thank goodness for my Victory Garden Cookbook – it’s organized alphabetically by vegetable and has tips on harvesting, yields, and preparation, not to mention dozens of recipes for every vegetable (even kohlrabi).  I’ve currently got bread n’ butter pickled kohlrabi (with some zucchini, shallots, and onions thrown in) hanging out in the fridge courtesy of a VG recipe.

So all that’s great, and I’m trying new things and eating more vegetables and the local organic fresh thing is just dandy, but

I work full-time.  I don’t own canning equipment.  My fridge has two (count them – two) crisper drawers.  My household consists of me and my husband – in other words, two (TWO) people.  My mom and I went in together on the CSA thing this year so we could try out two different ones, so we essentially get two full shares each week and split them.  The problem is, my mom’s out of town a lot in the summer (and much less adventurous in the kitchen than I am, due in part to the fact that neither my sisters nor my dad like trying new things), so for the last couple of weeks I’ve ended up with two full shares of produce.  Now, the description says that a half-share is good for a couple, and a full-share is good for a family of four or a couple that eats a lot of vegetables.  Thankfully, the growing season has gotten off to a slow start here this year, so the shares haven’t been bursting with veg for the most part, but still – two full shares is waaaaaay too much for two people to eat in a week, and my fridge is full to bursting with greens and vegetables. 

If I didn’t work, I could probably figure out some way to cook/preserve/prep/freeze most of it, but I’m getting buried in produce here.  With Saturday’s share, I ended up having to just chop the greens off most of the root vegetables (even though they’re edible, yes, I know) and give to the thriving colony of rabbits that lives near our house, since there was no way we could manage to eat all of those greens in addition to the swiss chard, green leaf lettuce, red leaf lettuce, and broccoli rabe we got (and not even considering the pound of braising greens, collard greens, head of butter lettuce, and two bunches of swiss chard still in the crisper from last Tuesday).  So I kept the salad turnips, carrots, beets, and kohlrabi but guiltily tossed their nutrient-rich, healthy, leafy tops…

I pick up our other share this afternoon… HELP!

Responses

  1. I wish I could take the extra veg off your hands. I’m not exactly sure what I’d do with it either, but I’ve got six people here. We’d manage to eat it somehow.

    • Yes – at least cramming a quart of random vegetables down six throats is less traumatizing than trying to fit it down two. Easier to hide it in manageable quantities, if nothing else. If I canned, I would send you cans of veg. Although, if I canned, I guess I wouldn’t have this problem…

  2. In a word…Juice or Smoothies 🙂

    • It’s just hard for two people to drink that many smoothies! 😉 We’re talking POUNDS of veg!

      • You would be amazed at how small a juice or smoothie you would get. Our neighbors at Creation were making green smoothies every day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

