Posted by: thewoobdog | May 17, 2012

Why Did I Think This Was A Good Idea? (in which we find the abundant overuse of italics)

I have my house literally pulled apart right now on a multi-weekend reorganization project and I’ve promised I’d get it done as soon as humanly possible.  It’s been kind of destroyed for a couple of weeks now – you know how it is when you really and truly decide that you are going to conquer the clutter and accumulated junk and disorganization of years… You kind of have to start by pulling everything out and then sorting and throwing out and giving away and finding permanent, organized places for what you’re keeping.

I know you’ve been there at some point. This time I remembered to take pictures of the “before” so I can see how far I’ve actually come – I will not be posting them until I can also post evidence of the “after” (that I pray will someday come…).  It’s embarrassing.  So anyway, it’s still in the “a tornado made an unannounced stopover at our house” phase and there is stuff everywhere.  It doesn’t help that this project involves multiple rooms – I’m simultaneously reorganizing the guest room closet, office closet (both of which are upstairs), master bedroom closet, under-eaves storage in office and guest room (low priority but still going to happen), guest room (so it’s actually useable again), office room, and living room. Oh, and planning to put in a chair-rail border in the dining room and paint below it in a darker accent color to the main wall color, just so I can completely trash another room in the house once the aforementioned rooms are done.  Oh, and planting herbs in my raised garden beds since I’ve decided not to grow any vegetables this summer (darn you, groundhogs, rabbits, and deer – I AM NOT PUTTING OUT A BUFFET FOR YOU THIS YEAR).

Anyway, back to the reorganization thing – I think so far the accomplishment I’m most proud of is getting four totes of old clothes reduced down to one-and-a-half totes, by literally getting rid of anything I wasn’t really looking forward to wearing again someday.  I swear, half my storage issues are because I have four complete wardrobes – my skinny wardrobe, my plump wardrobe, my fat wardrobe, and my OMG-I-can’t-leave-the-house-and-let-anyone-see-me-this-fat wardrobe.  IT MUST END, I TELL YOU, IT MUST END!!!!!  My parents got me an itty-bitty window air conditioner for the office room so I can work out in there this summer without broiling, so I have no excuse now. None. Unless you count inherent laziness and the law of inertia.

So, anyway, sorry for going off on my little tangent there – what’s up with you, faithful reader?  I bet the knowledge that the most exciting thing going on in my life right now is cleaning just made your day seem brighter (especially if your day does not involve cleaning on a massive scale, which I fervently hope it does not).

Responses

  1. […] going on over here today.  I feel like all my weekends lately have been subsumed by my massive spring cleaning/reorganization project (probably because all my weekends lately have been subsumed by my massive spring […]

  2. It’s such a pain in the butt, but the feeling when it’s all done is like nothing else!

  3. Yes, and someday I hope to have that feeling… *sigh*


Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Yarn Harlot

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

