Posted by: thewoobdog | February 18, 2009

So Happy Together

I know – cheesy title and I can’t stand the song, but it’s the only thing I could come up with.  And now the song is stuck in my head. GRRRRRRRRRR.

Happy anniversary to the man who makes every day a joy; who is a model of patience, understanding, and self-control; who blesses me with thoughtfulness in countless ways even when I act unblessable; and who constantly motivates me to be a better person – I love you!

 

I saw this on bythelbs site and decided to snag it and post it since today is our anniversary (mine and my husband’s, not mine and bythelbs‘) and it’s all about us!

How long have you been together?
We were married exactly three years ago today.  When writing this, I thought we started dating 3 years, 3 months, and 3 days ago, but then I realized I conveniently left out the whole time we were engaged… So really we’ve been together since June 15, 2005.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
Well, technically we kind of met a couple of months earlier at a seminar, and apparently he kind of flirted with me (I remained blissfully unaware of this until many moons later, since at the time I had my eye on another guy – ah, the perfidy of women…).  I didn’t really start thinking of him as a ‘prospect’ until he locked his keys in his car a month and a half later and asked me for assistance…  Then the stalking began and two weeks later he was MINE…

Who asked who out?
Erm… Well, he asked me out… But I kind of basically sort of might have completely cornered him into it…

How old are each of you?
I am 31, he’s 45.

Whose siblings do/did you see the most?
Mine – they’re both still teenagers and live with my parents, who are only a couple of miles from us.  His parents and sister also live close but we don’t see them as much.

Do you have any children together?
Nope.

What about pets?
The cutest dog in the world and some fish (also cute, but harder to cuddle)

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
My being in grad school – because I also work, my schoolwork ends up taking up a lot of our ‘together time’ 

Did you go to the same school?
Same college

Are you from the same home town?
Nope.  I was born in Maryland and grew up in North Carolina, and he was born in and grew up all over – Norway, Nebraska, Washington… (Air Force brat)

Who is the smartest?
He would probably say me but I think we both are, just in different ways.  I’m probably quicker-witted (and certainly sharper-tongued), but he’s definitely a smart one (hellooooo – a Master’s in Applied Mathematics?  Yeesh!).  He also works harder at everything and has a stick-to-it-ness that eventually conquers any problem.  The man is my hero.

Who is the most sensitive?
Hmmm.  I’d say it’s pretty even. 

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
Oh, wow.  It varies.  We try not to eat out much, but when we do we like to make it somewhere special – there’s a great local Italian place we love, and any time we’re in a town with a P.F. Chang’s we try to go there.  For sheer frequency I’d have to say Panera, though, because if we’re needing something quick we’ll go grab a bowl of soup there.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
Maui, for our honeymoon.  Can’t wait to go back.

Who has the craziest ex’s?
I really don’t have any, so by default it has to be him.  There’s one of his I would back over with my car if I ever had the opportunity.  Or knew her name.  Or what she looked like.

Who has the worst temper?
Me. 

Who hogs the bed?
Him – he likes to invade my side when I’m not looking.  Or when I get up in the middle of the night.  Or whatever other times he can.

Who is more stubborn?
Me, when it comes to sheer cussedness and refusal to admit I might (possibly) be wrong.  Him, when it comes to determination to finish something.  So, I guess you could say I’m stubborn in the bad way, and he’s stubborn in the good way.

Who is more jealous?
Neither one of us, although I tease him about the young college girls in his math class and about the fact that several have left comments about his hotness on ratemyprofessor.com.

Who does the cooking?
Usually me, but he is the Grillmaster and can do amazing things with slabs of meat and fire.  He also makes amazing breakfast foods (omelettes, pancakes, and french toast, all of which I’m really bad at).

Who is more social?
I’d say he is, but I think we’d be more evenly matched if I weren’t always feeling so stressed with school.

Who is the neat Freak?
I’m the frustrated perfectionist – I want everything perfect but am rarely motivated to make it so.  He actually follows through in his drive for neatness.  Again, I partly blame school for my descent into entropy.

Who wakes up earlier?
He does.  I always let the alarm go one (or two…) more cycles before I lurch to the shower.

Where was your first date?
We went to see Batman Begins.  I didn’t think it was really a date, because I had kind of coerced him into inviting me to go with him and his friends, but he assures me that he thought it was a date.  So it was.  The next night he asked me to dinner with absolutely no coercion (but a lot of pre-request idle chitchat – initiated by him, thank you very much).

Who has the bigger family?
We’re both one of three, but I maybe (maybe) have more cousins.  Our families are probably pretty evenly matched, though.

Do you get flowers often?
Usually on birthday, anniversary, Valentine’s day, and sometimes at random intervals in between – like the anniversary of our first date or something.
J 

How do you spend the holidays?
With family – we alternate between his parents and mine, since both sets live so close.

How long did it take to get serious?
Well, we were engaged three months to the day after our first date, and apparently he ordered the ring a few weeks before that, so…

Who does the laundry?
I try to, but a lot of times he beats me to it.  This only bothers me because I am anal about what does and does not get put in the dryer and sometimes there are slip-ups…

Who drives when you are together?
98% of the time he does.  I think it’s a guy thing.

Is your family still growing?
Um… It’s possible, I guess, since there’s really no ‘growth’ thus far. 

Responses

  1. I loved reading this! You are so young. How did I forget you are so young?

  2. LOL. Nice to be reminded… I forget I’m ‘young’, most of the time… 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

