Posted by: thewoobdog | January 24, 2009

PRESENTS!!!!

So now for a rundown of my favorite present of this year (well, ok, one of my favorites):

LINCOLN LOGS!!!  I love Lincoln Logs.  As a kid, I would walk to my parents’ office after work, where I would pretty much be stuck, bored and alone, from 3:00 p.m. until about 9:00 p.m. (often later), which was usually about when we ate dinner.  My saving grace during those long, tedious hours was my Lincoln Logs, which I would set up almost daily to make villages for the little plastic people that came from my Burger King Kid’s Meals (ok, now that I’ve done a search on them, apparently they were from Arby’s kid’s meals) – the Little Miss and Mr. Men figures.  They had amazing social interactions and daily fun, all scripted and directed by yours truly.  So, anyway, wrenching myself away from my nostalgic meanderings – all of these fond memories have made me yearn to have Lincoln Logs of my very own again, and in light of this, TBear presented me with these on Christmas:

1230082044

The set included the little ponies and cow and everything.  *blissful sigh*  I’m such a child.

Responses

  1. Lincoln Logs are awesome, but I’m kind of stuck on the Little Miss and Mr. Men thing. I love Mr. Men! Do you still have these Arby’s figures?!

  2. NO, I don’t have them anymore but I wish I did! You wouldn’t believe (seriously) how often I think about them and wonder what became of them… At Epcot in one of the stores in the England part they had all the books and I was soooo tempted to buy them – but then I realized they would be a poor substitute for my little plastic figures. 😦 My mom did get me Lil’ Miss Sunshine band-aids for Christmas, though, which was funny. I had no idea my mom remembered my fascination with the Little Miss/Mr. Men characters…

  3. That is a damn shame! I do have quite a few of the Mr. books. Bought them through my kids’ school book orders and got a few cheap off Amazon. But no figurines. Humph.


Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

