Posted by: thewoobdog | December 31, 2008

Slackitude

Oh, wow, has it really been over a month since I blogged?  Oh, the humanity…

Well, I was insanely crazily busy during the last part of November/first part of December, and since then I think it’s the sheer volume of things going on that have kept me from blogging – too much to say, not enough time to say it…  So this will be a fairly routine ‘update’ blog, just to catch us all up so I can start again with relevant, current blog topics.

The second week of December, TBear and I went to DisneyWorld with my parents – it doesn’t matter how much you’ve been, it’s still fun.  🙂  A-flipping-lot of walking – I wore a pedometer a couple of days, just out of curiosity, and was stunned.  They say that you should try to walk 10,000 steps per day for good health, and let’s be honest – given that I have a desk job, that doesn’t ever happen unless I really, really work at it (which I really never do, except on occasion when spurred by guilt).  The least walking we did was the day we shopped – I clocked about 8,200 steps that day.  The days we were in the Disney parks, though, I was stunned to find I’d walked over 22,500 steps.  And just so you know – that was with only putting the pedometer on when we were actually at the park, so I didn’t get false readings from the car/bus/ferry/monorail ride over or from the getting up/down/moving around while at the motorhome.

Right.  So, I have pics, but they’re not downloaded, so for now that paragraph is our vacation in a nutshell. 

We got back Sunday, December 14, and my final exams were Monday and Tuesday, the 15th and 16th.  That was not cool and I would prefer not to remember the frantic studying and preparation, so we’ll skip over that.  I did pull A’s across the board, though, so yay.

Um… let’s see… oh, right.  A few days after that, my parents’ house flooded (busted outside faucet flooded the main floor and basement and wasn’t discovered until it had been pouring full-blast for about 2 1/2 hours).  Did I mention this was less than a week before Christmas?  The hardwood floors (which had just been refinished about two weeks prior) were saturated on the main floor and had to be covered with these funky rubber mats and tubes, plus there were about half a dozen commercial dehumidifiers hulking about with their tubes, so the main floor looked like the Borg had invaded (yes, I’m a geek and just inserted a Star Trek reference into my blog).  In the basement, the carpet and (leather) couch were soaked and the ceiling tiles had disintegrated into wet white goo all over everything.

Amazingly, by Christmas day the flood-repair (?) company had everything looking almost normal, so my parents were able to have their normal open house so all our family and friends could stop in and visit. 

Sorry for the boring narrative.  More later.  Then we can get back to our regularly scheduled programming.

Responses

  1. Interesting Read! Very detailed blog.
    Thanks for sharing

    • LOL. Thanks! I was hoping it wasn’t too awfully boring a synopsis…

  2. Dude, there are like posts here. You started posting again and didn’t say anything?

    Wait, now I have to go read them so I can properly comment.

    Glad to see you back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

