Posted by: thewoobdog | November 26, 2008

Bonus Room Update

So, we may or may not have bought a couch.  For the bonus room we don’t have yet.  (We do have a nice blue line drawn in our driveway, though, showing the space the bonus room we don’t have yet is going to occupy.  And we have a large and hulking yellow metal monster sitting in our yard like a big piece of modern sculpture, waiting to chew up big muddy holes next to our house.)

And we have a couch.  We didn’t plan to buy, we just went out looking… We were like Goldilocks and the Three Bears (except there were only two of us and… well, ok, the simile doesn’t work out, just let it go) – I would think something was perfect, TBear thought it was too soft.  He’d love it, I’d say, “Too hard.”  Fabric choice, color, style – nothing was ‘just right.’  Until the couch.  Verily, twas the perfect couch – not too dark, not too light, not too hard, not too soft…  But lo and behold, the couch far exceeded our price range – until we went in the other room, where sat the twin of the couch but at a bargain price. And we wondered.  And we asked.  And lo and behold, the twin was actually the couch’s older sibling, born the year before but exactly alike.  And then did the saleslady reduce the price yet more, and did she inform us that the couch did contain a sleeper section and a recliner.  And then were we hooked.  And then did she tell us she could hold the couch until such time as we deemed needful, at no charge, and couldst deliver the hulking beast to our domicile fair cheaply.

1115081540

The color is technically “Toasted Marshmallow,” although I think my mom hit the nail on the head when she said it was kind of a “Mushroom” color.  It’s actually prettier in person – I never would have thought I’d like a couch that color, but when I saw it I thought, “Wow, what a cool color!”  Go figure.

Did I mention that the saleslady threw in the four accent pillows, as well?  (Apparently they go for $85/pair, which I think is absolutely outrageous – I have a hard time spending $15 on an accent pillow!)  Did I also mention we got a steal?  SWEEEEEET!!!!!  I still can’t believe we scored a La-Z-Boy leather reclining sleeper sofa that will be stored for us til we need it and delivered to our doorstep – nay, to our very room – at minimal charge (we’re talking over an hour from the store to our house, plus the thing weighs a ton since it has the sleeper section, and they’ll deliver it and set it up for only $127 – plus, if they mess it up in delivery, they replace it).

Yes, I am aware that I randomly switched to faux-Middle-English there in the middle – I don’t know why.  It seemed appropriate at the time.  It’s my blog and I can do it if I want to.  So there. 

Responses

  1. Niiiice. And such a sweet deal! Add that to your list of things to be thankful for. If you lived closer, I would come and crash on your comfy mushroom couch.

  2. Yeah, but if I lived closer I’d call you to help move it around when I randomly decide to rearrange the room… (when I have a room to rearrange, that is). 😀

    (Hmmm… wonder if that’s why all my friends moved far, far away?)


Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

