Posted by: thewoobdog | July 6, 2007

I came up with a couple of very corny titles for this post (“Do the Due – Fondue” or “Just ‘Due It”), and then decided they were too cheesy even for me so I abandoned the whole title thing. 

I think I’ve decided on a rustic cheese fondue (with swiss, bacon, and white wine) and a deviled cheese fondue (no alcohol; made with smoked cheddar, worcestershire, and a touch of horseradish and yellow mustard), along with the traditional hot oil fondue.  We’ll have blanched veggies, french bread, and ham cubes to dip in the cheese fondues, and then we’ll have beef loin and teriyaki-marinated chicken breast to dip in the hot oil fondue.  I’m also thinking of trying this breaded cheese-cube thing I read about – you dip cheese cubes in beaten egg and breadcrumbs and then dunk them in the hot oil, so they end up kind of like fried cheesesticks. 

I’m getting all excited about the fondue thing – I mean, everybody loves fondue.  The last time I had fondue was before my sisters were born, which puts it at close to 20 years ago, and I still remember the thrill of it.  When I told my dad we were doing fondue for TBear’s birthday (at his request), he lit up like a Christmas tree (if you knew my dad, you’d know how extremely unusual this type of reaction is) and said, “Really?  Fondue?  I love fondue!”  This is pretty much the same thing the rest of my family said upon hearing the fondue news.

We borrowed TBear’s parents’ fondue pots (they had two from like forever ago) because we have so many people (well, we have eight people coming, but that’s a lot for fondue), so together with mine and my mom’s we’ll have five pots total – two cheese and three oil.  We’re not doing a dessert fondue because TBear wants an oreo cake (and now, thanks to the foray into Amish country, a shoo-fly pie).  Anyway, the funny thing about borrowing those from his parents is that they hadn’t used them in years – I mean, they had to scrub tarnish off before they lent them to us, apparently – and yet when we borrowed them, his mom told us that we needed to bring them back as soon as we were done with them because she wanted to have us and TBear’s sister and her husband over for fondue soon.  LOL. 

I’m telling you, everybody loves fondue.  

I’ll let you know how it goes – I’m doing the grocery shopping today after work and cutting everything into fondue-able pieces tomorrow (since tonight TBear and I are going to see Transformers with some friends).  And baking the cake.  And probably making the pie.  And my dad wants us to go to the lake.  All of this before 6:00 pm, when the party happens.  It’s a good thing I love my husband. 

Edit:  This is actually not that stressful.  No, really.  TBear was getting all concerned about all that work I’d be doing and I told him that if this is honestly the most stress and biggest issue I have in my life, then things are pretty good, amen?!

Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Yarn Harlot

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

