Posted by: thewoobdog | June 18, 2007

Procrastination

Mmmkay.  So, since I didn’t have enough going on this week, I decided to go ahead and start painting my ugly bedroom furniture (in lieu of studying for the GMAT…).  I am extraordinarily pleased with the results thus far – see, my furniture actually rocks, even though it’s from the 70’s, because it has a LOT of storage space (much bigger drawers than the stuff they sell nowadays), it’s just this really dark stained wood with hideously ugly fake brass handles (that of course aren’t standard-sized to anything sold now, so I have looked in vain for new hardware to fit in place of the existing).  Anyway, I have toyed with the idea of doing something to it for years, I just never have gotten around to it. 

At any rate, I just got around to it.  I finished primering the nightstands today and actually got the base coat on (kind of a dusky dark sage color).  Hopefully tomorrow I’ll get the crackle glaze and the cream-colored top coat on and they will be DONE – my SIL and her husband are staying at our house while we’re gone (painting at their place, so this way they get away from the fumes), and I’d like to have my underwear out of the floor and back in the nightstand drawer before they come over.  Yeah.  So I have til Friday.  No worries – I’m not even going to attempt to start on the headboard or the big chest of drawers til we get back. 

Have I mentioned I’ve never painted furniture before, really (unless you count the steel camp bunk beds I had as a kid)?  Much less ever crackle-glazed anything.  Between the gardening and this, I’m starting to feel like I should have a DIY show.  Or stock in Martha Stewart…

I do have a nice feeling of accomplishment, though – not only did I get a good start on the furniture, I finished my grad school application (complete with resume), submitted it online, and followed up on my letters of recommendation (well before the July 1 deadline, I might add – impressive in light of the fact that I just decided on grad school last week). (Crap – I think I just sprained my wrist patting myself on the back.)  Plus I packed yesterday (for the ten-day trip to PA), and my dear and wonderful and awesome husband cleaned the whole downstairs except the bedroom (hard to do til the nightstands are back) while I was painting, so we are on track.  He hasn’t even mentioned the fact that the house actually needed to be cleaned (and the packing done and the GMAT studied for and dinner cooked), while the nightstands really were quite functional without new paint and would, in fact, have happily waited to be face-lifted until we got back and had less to do.  He’s such an awesome husband.  He just accepts my little foibles and doesn’t try to make me feel like a PMS-ing idiot when I do seemingly stupid and illogical things (like starting furniture painting 5 days before a trip).  (How does one even attempt to explain that the painting is actually quite calming, in the midst of such a hectic week?)

In case you’re wondering about the trip – this Friday we’re heading up to Hershey, PA, where we plan to hit HersheyPark a couple of days and maybe cruise through Amish country (TBear has never experienced either), then Tuesday we head to Mt. Union, PA for CreationFest.  Woohoo!!!  We have an indeterminate number of people coming to Hershey (please, Lord, no more!), and our group, as I’ve mentioned before, has grown to 39 for the festival itself.  Four days amid 100,000+ hot sweaty people having a blast – like a big Christian Woodstock.  The challenge this year is that we have so many newbies along – people who’ve never been (and have small kids – ack) and really have no idea what it’s like, which puts the majority of the burden of preparation on us prior to the event – but I have every confidence that once we get there and our guys get into the swing of things we’ll have no lack of help.  A lot of these families have really shown a willingness to step up and help out with church events and stuff in the past, so I think we’ll have good number of helping hands this year.

Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

