Posted by: thewoobdog | May 5, 2007

The Fall of the Resistance Movement

Um… so about that successful plant-buying resistance…  Yeah.  That lasted til I got off work, at which point it had temporarily stopped raining (while continuing to gloom).  I just happened to go home the route that just happened to take me by SS, and I just happened to stop and look at the plants again…  Then I decided I’d just buy a few – my self-imposed limit being the number of plants I could successfully carry with no basket.  Of course then the helpful lady working that area (so much better service than Lowe’s) mentioned that they had cardboard flats to help carry the plants in, so my resolution changed to ‘I will only buy as many plants as will fit in a flat’.  Mmmmhmm.  Well, I had to get some marigolds, johnny-jump-ups, and lobelia – to fill in the gaps in my patio planting, of course – and then I had no room for herbs, so I just kind of carried an assortment of herbs (lavender, thyme, creeping/trailing rosemary, and dill) around with me to the little checkout part, which is when I saw the gerber daisies.  I’ve never grown gerber daisies, but the first flower my husband (then boyfriend) ever gave me was a gerber, so I had to buy some for sentimental reasons (yes, I am the Justification Queen).  I ended up with two flats of plants that are currently sitting on my shed being rained on, since of course the brief rainless period lasted til about the time I got home.

I should also mention that on the way home I stopped at a roadside stand and bought a flame azalea… which is also sitting out by my shed being rained on…  and I am currently making plans to go dig up some of my mom’s hostas and plant near our hammock.  Somebody stop me…

Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Yarn Harlot

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

