Posted by: thewoobdog | May 1, 2007

See?

Told you I was going home and planting flowers:

 

(They look kind of boring in the pics, but once they grow and flower they’ll rock.  You can’t see the ones on the far corner where the  third pot is [second pic, far right], but you get the idea.)

So after work I went to Lowe’s, got a big mulch ring for my new weeping cherry tree (birthday present – thanks, Mom & Dad!), and, of course, just had to browse the available plant offerings.  I ended up buying a 9-flat of marigolds, three pots, and a bunch of herbs (including cinnamon basil – fun! – and pennyroyal, which I have no idea what to use for, but it looked cool), as well as three bags of compost.  Of course I was dressed in my new (hot) outfit, so when it came time to load the compost (Lowe’s employees, of course, being nowhere in sight), I found myself with a bit of a dilemma.  Luckily there was a very nice man (also waiting on Lowe’s employees to appear) who helped me out.  Thank you, nice man.  Shame on you, Lowe’s employees (I have issues with our Lowe’s employees.  Long-standing issues based on years of non-service).

When I went home, I planted every plant I’ve bought so far this year!!!! (with the exception of the groundcover and spreading plants that go by the hammock and on the bank, respectively).  Go, me!  I even weeded and mulched two beds I had neglected to do earlier this spring (one left!), and I put my herbs in the pots I bought so I’ll have little container-gardens of fresh herbs to complement my new flowers.    I feel so domestic.  (Wow, you really do have more energy doing this Atkins thing…)  Our patio feels ‘lived in’ now when we walk out, too – doesn’t look quite so much like new construction anymore.  I have seedlings started to finish out the planting but it’ll be a while before they’re ready (seeing as how they’re still in their little one-shoot, two-leaves phase, which, sadly, this Bio major cannot remember the proper name for).  Now if we could just get grass to grow around the path…

Oh, and if anyone has any uses for pennyroyal, let me know… I don’t know if you cook with it, make tea with it, or what, and I haven’t gotten around to googling it yet…

Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Yarn Harlot

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

