Posted by: thewoobdog | April 24, 2007

A Whole New World

I am not exaggerating when I say that I feel like I am in culture-shock.  No, really.  I actually ate real mayonnaise today, for the first time in probably ten years.  This is freaking me out.  I don’t EAT this stuff.  My husband is absolutely thrilled with the change in dietary habits – he’s like a kid in a candy store, and keeps insisting that he would love for me to fix him bologna and eggs for dinner.  He is also drooling at the thought of hot dogs.  I wish I could enjoy this half as much…

Unh.  On the upside, I swear I haven’t been hungry (although with meal options like bologna and eggs, this is hardly as surprising as it could be).  Still, the thought of choosing from meat, meat, or… oh, yes, more meat… leaves me somewhat underwhelmed. 

And no, I am not planning on actually feeding my husband bologna and eggs.  I just mentioned it to him as a joke and he lit up like a schoolkid on a snowday.  I think we’ll have london broil for dinner.  Sigh.  With a salad (which I actually do look forward to).

I miss fruit. 

On the upside, by the time the wedding rolls around, I’ll be more than ready to go back to nice carb-inclusive Weight Watchers again, while having hopefully kicked the sugar- and caffeine-habits I developed during tax season.  Dare I hope my husband will be tired of meat?

Edited to add:

An aside to anyone out there who may take my comments the wrong way – I’ve actually studied up on Atkins/read the book and all that, and it makes sense in a weird way.  I mean, I can understand the scientific aspect of it and why it works, it’s just so completely counter-intuitive that my nutrition-trained brain keeps screaming ‘Idiot! Idiot! You can’t do that!’ at me every time I turn around! 

And I admit I’m having issues with the 3-cup limit of veggies a day.  I want more veggies.  Boo hoo.    However, for the next five weeks I need maximum results, so I’ll wait to add carbs til after that and do my toasting with beef broth.

Leave a Reply

Categories

By the lbs

nutty goodness in bulk or by the pound

Ramblings

of a fiber obsessed transplant vermonter

The Asking Place

On God and life and starstuff.

blog - More to Love®

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

A Fat Girl & A Fat Horse

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

Month by Month...

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Beauty, and What It Means

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

The Body Love Blog

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Pearls Before Swine

The Blog O' Stephan Pastis

Bev Cooks

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Boom.

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Jenna Bennett / Jennie Bentley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Yarn Harlot

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Doug's Recipe Page

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Stitchy McYarnpants

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Simplifying Sam

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

Robin McKinley

(Shhhhhhhhh! Don't tell...)

